Order 3 or more physical items and get 1¢ postal shipping
Vapors of Morphine | A New Low

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Ali Farka Toure Morphine The Black Keys

More Artists From
United States - Mass. - Boston

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Progressive Rock Rock: Psychedelic Moods: Featuring Saxophone
There are no items in your wishlist.

A New Low

by Vapors of Morphine

A dreamy vibe permeates this unusual album, even on the rockers. Former members of Morphine meld their smoky grooves with jagged prog rock, delta blues and West African rhythms. Co-produced by Pete Weiss.
Genre: Rock: Progressive Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 10% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Wind up Radio
0:55 $0.99
2. Renouveau / Daman N'diaye (feat. Boubacar Diabate)
4:38 $0.99
3. Sheila
3:32 $0.99
4. Baby's on Fire
3:36 $0.99
5. The Other Side
5:13 $0.99
6. Sombre Reptiles
2:57 $0.99
7. If
3:45 $0.99
8. Red Apple Juice
3:56 $0.99
9. Souvenir
6:21 $0.99
10. Rowdy Blues
5:44 $0.99
11. Interstellar Overdrive (Live)
3:26 album only
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Vapors of Morphine
A New Low

1. Wind Up Radio* (Colley/Allison/Lyons) 0:55
2. Renouveau/Daman N'Diaye (Traoré/traditional) 4:38
3. Sheila (Sandman) 3:33
4. Baby's On Fire (Eno/Peter) 3:36
5. The Other Side (Sandman/Colley) 5:13
6. Sombre Reptiles (Eno/Peter) 2:57
7. If (Hidalgo/Pérez) 3:46
8. Red Apple Juice** (traditional, arr. VoM) 3:56
9. Souvenir (Sandman) 6:21
10. Rowdy Blues (Kid Bailey, arr. VoM) 5:45

Produced by Vapors of Morphine and Pete Weiss, except
* Produced by Jeff Allison
** Produced by Vapors of Morphine, Pete Weiss and William D. Lucey

Mastered by Peter Linnane at Patch Hill Mastering.


℗ & © 2016 Vapors of Morphine. All rights reserved. Warning: unauthorized reproduction of this recording is prohibited by law and is subject to federal prosecution

Album Credits:

Dana Colley: electric and acoustic baritone saxophone, tenor and alto saxophone, vocals on Souvenir, space ship.

Jeremy Lyons: vocals, 2-string slide bass, guitars, Pinewood electric bouzouki, 6-string banjo, Pinewood 4-string electric diddley bow, piano, jaw harp, crank radio, sound effects, lighting.

Jerome Deupree: drums and on all except

Jeffrey “Cannonball” Allison: drums and grins on Wind Up Radio and Baby's On Fire

Boubacar Diabate: vocal and vocal samples on both versions of Renouveau/Daman N'Diaye

Recorded at:

Armory Sound (by Pete Weiss, Michael Healey, Jeff Gallagher; Hi N Dry/Mark Sandman Music Project by Dan Cardinal; Dimension Sound by Joe Stewart; Milk Row Cemetery by William D. Lucey; 3rd Floor by Dana Colley. Mixed by Pete Weiss with Vapors of Morphine at Armory Sound; remixed by Pete Weiss at Verdant Studios. Wind Up Radio recorded by Jeff Allison at Atwood's Tavern; mixed by Jeff Allison. Intro to The Other Side recorded by Jack Pombriant at Atwood's Tavern (as well as additional live material).

The Other Side, Souvenir and Sheila published by Head With Wings Music/Pubco/BMI. Baby's On Fire and Sombre Reptiles published by E.G. Music, Inc./Universal Music Careers/BMI. If Published by Chicken On Fire Music/Hot Churro Music/BMI. Renouveau written by Amadou “Ballaké” Traoré, published by Syllart Records/ASCAP; Daman N'Diaye is in the public domain. Wind Up Radio published by Five Eighths Music/BMI. Rowdy Blues published by Universal Music Corp.

Thanks to: Jeff Allison (and Wally); Billy Conway; Jeff Gallagher and Armory Sound; Mark Shuman; Patrick, Ryan, Randi and everyone at Atwood's Tavern; Gustavo Andrés and Max Mazzone; Tom Thayer and the dba family; Scott Johnson and family; Steve Wertheimer, Monique Ortiz and Mike Howard; Mr. Airplane Man; James Mobius; Mark Hamilton; Greg Schatz, Bobby Lewis, Paul Santopadre, Laura Céré, the Lyons Family, Lisa Deupree, the Colley family, Boubacar Diabate, Andrew Mazzone (R.I.P.) and Mark Sandman (R.I.P.). And to all the other friends we've lost.

Cover photo and CD design by Lisa Deupree. Photos of Jerome and Jeremy by Dana Colley; photo of Dana and Jerome by Brian Gifford.

The ’90s band Morphine pioneered a new type of music — “Low Rock” — featuring the unusual yet seductive lineup of baritone sax, 2-string slide bass and drums. Morphine burned bright and fast but was snuffed out before it’s time when leader Mark Sandman passed away in 1999. From its ashes have risen Vapors of Morphine, a different sort of bird.

Vapors of Morphine honors the progressive legacy of it's predecessor. Original Morphine members Dana Colley (baritone sax) and Jerome Deupree (drums) are joined by transplanted New Orleans’ slide guitarist Jeremy Lyons. They create dreamy soundscapes, applying inventive arrangement to the unique instrumentation of electric baritone saxophone (evocative of Jimi Hendrix’ guitar), the Sandman-style 2string slide bass (sometimes electric bouzouki or guitar) and mad drums. Morphine songs are performed alongside psychedelic renditions of West African tunes, noise rock, originals and obscure covers. And it all fits together. Vapors of Morphine leave audiences from Boston to Brazil, New Orleans to the Netherlands wanting more.

The band was officially formed in 2009 to perform a tribute to Mark Sandman in Palestrina, Italy, where Morphine's singer, composer and 2string bassist died of a heart attack on the very same stage ten years earlier. Since then the group has released one CD (under their original name “The Ever Expanding Elastic Waste Band”), and a new release is pending. VoM plays selective shows at home and abroad. Highlights have included Mês Da Cultura Independente (São Paulo, Brazil, 2014), The New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival (USA, 2012); Virada Cultural Festival in Sao Paulo, Brazil (2012), New Orleans’ Voodoo Experience (USA, 2011); and Maquinaria Festival in Santiago, Chile (2011). VoM have appeared at Film Festivals in the US in Chicago, Kansas City, Boston, Salem, Austin,; in Tui, Spain and Amsterdam, Netherlands. All in tandem with screenings of two documentary films, Cure for Pain: the Mark Sandman Story and Morphine “Journey of Dreams” (to which they contributed music).

All three surviving members of Morphine — Dana, Jerome and succeeding drummer Billy Conway — met blues guitarist Jeremy Lyons in September 2005 after he was washed up on Massachusetts’ shore from New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina. A personal and musical friendship began. (Besides offering equipment and studio time, Dana got Jeremy a house-painting job.) After informal collaborations prompted Dana to invite Lyons to the gig in Italy, the guitarist had a 2-string slide bass like Sandman’s built and began learning much of the Morphine cannon. Meanwhile they continued to develop a trance-blues style and a knack for reinterpreting disparate artists like Brian Eno and Ali Farka Toure, sometimes with the baritone sax taking the role of the bass, and Jeremy on either guitar or electric bouzouki. Jerome Deupree is the band's primary drummer, though Billy Conway has joined the group for some big shows and – along with Boston drummer Jeff Allison – filled in sometime for Deupree during an 18 month health-related absence.



to write a review