Order 3 or more physical items and get 1¢ postal shipping
Werner Fischer's Travelogue | The Light Is On

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Dianne Reeves Joe Henderson Wes Montgomery

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Contemporary Jazz Blues: Rhythm & Blues Moods: Mood: Upbeat
There are no items in your wishlist.

The Light Is On

by Werner Fischer's Travelogue

"THE LIGHT IS ON" is the third album by Werner Fischer's Travelogue and features singer Coco Rouzier (USA) in a perfect blend of original tunes and standards, 'Baltimore' and 'Everything Must Change' being among them.
Genre: Jazz: Contemporary Jazz
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
cd in stock order now
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 20% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Smack Dab in the Middle
3:47 $0.99
2. Baltimore
5:03 $0.99
3. Wait on Love
4:30 $0.99
4. A Gentle Breeze from Chinese Soul
4:44 $0.99
5. Everything Must Change
4:08 $0.99
6. Transcendental Suite Part II
2:00 $0.99
7. Step by Step
2:10 $0.99
8. Kepler 452b
4:22 $0.99
9. Rescue Me
4:31 $0.99
10. Wrong Song
3:47 $0.99
11. Summertime
1:51 $0.99
12. Summer Ends
3:17 $0.99
13. Jazz Ain't Nothin' but Soul
2:05 $0.99
14. Bringing It All Back Home
4:09 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Grab your bags and start again!
"Smack Dab In The Middle" drops the listener right in the middle of the action. Blinded by the spotlights of a train taking off, you get carried away by the unstoppable playing mood of the well-rehearsed sextet, driven by the relentless swing of the rhythm group which inspires the guitarist to a first stunning solo.
The christening gift of the brand new jazz branch of the West Swiss label PBR Records SA is the third album of Werner Fischer's Travelogue and the first with the superb singer Coco Rouzier (USA) on board.
Impressive how disciplined the musicians roll out their original compositions as well as the classics: Like a flock of fully trained racehorses, they gallop on, sheering out individually from time to time until their boisterous fervor is held back right on the beat by the strong hand of the bandleader, transferring their concentrated power to the stunned listener.
Following the kick-ass start, Randy Newman's gloomy ballad "Baltimore" introduces a quieter stretch. Rouzier’s wonderful melancholic timbre and the relaxed attitude of the train attendants transform the grim view of the lyrics into an experience you can’t get enough of.
Our gut-feeling after the first two songs is expressed in a compliment to the band by stormproof entertainer Coco on "Wait On Love": "The groove is just - wow – I mean it’s tight." We agree.
A skillful instrumental revealing Fischer's flirtation with Chinese culture is followed by the three-part "Transcendental Suite": A deeply felt version of the 70ies classic "Everything Must Change", followed by a brief free interlude which is dissolved by the soothing balm of "Step By Step" - a pleasant breathing exercise guided by Rouzier’s relaxed voice and accompanied by Fischer-Tian’s filigree Gibson. The suite ends with a respectful salute to the "thin white Duke" with the line "Say goodbye to ground control."
Getting off the Transamerican Express, we hop into the waiting Space Shuttle as the pilot takes us for a ride to exoplanet Kepler 452-b, stirring our hopes for a better world. We are welcomed by the bitter sweet "Rescue Me", a smooth bossa nova, spiced up by Jürg Wickihalder ravishingly blowing his heartache into the night.
Yet another retro flash hits us in space: After an intro resembling a slow-motion version of "Walking On The Moon“, the "Wrong Song" turns out to be a hypnotic reggae of the lasciviously intoxicated kind.
Planet earth comes within sight and we land in "A Summer's Tale" - the continuing story of a wonderfully timeless summer, an acapella version of "Summertime" merging seamlessly into the wistful late summer-tune "Summer's End". Expect to hear a silver moon rise above the deserted beach club behind Roberto Domeniconi’s enchanted piano.
After the heartfelt confession of the singer, that "Jazz Is Nothin’ But Soul", the grandiose album closes with a roguish Hammond organ on "Bringing it all back home". The light-hearted conclusion of a wonderfully enriching journey leaving us with lasting impressions and the wish to grab your bags and start again. (Jan Krohn)

coco rouzier – vocals
jürg wickihalder – tenor sax
werner tian fischer – guitar
roberto domeniconi – piano & hammond
fredi meli – double bass
gabriel schiltknecht – drums & percussion

music arranged by werner tian fischer & travelogue
recorded october 6/7, 2015 @ gabriel recording, stalden
additional recording & mix @ patrikschwitter.com
recorded, mixed & mastered by patrik schwitter
photographs by ute schendel, andreas weber & fredi meli
artwork by kate isler & andreas weber
produced by werner tian fischer & patrik schwitter



to write a review