Yang | The Failure of Words

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
1-King Crimson 2-Animals as Leaders 3-Steve Reich

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Math Rock Rock: Avant-Prog Moods: Instrumental
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

The Failure of Words

by Yang

Yang is an instrumental quartet which compositions melt guitar counterpoints, odd time signatures, new music and oriental modes, all together with a powerful rhythmic section.
Genre: Rock: Math Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. El Diablo
7:12 $1.20
2. Six Four Five
5:16 $1.20
3. Iago
4:08 $1.20
4. 9/8 Variations
8:01 $1.20
5. Babel Inside
6:05 $1.20
6. Slow Flow (Flux Lent)
5:25 $1.20
7. Indecision
5:35 $1.20
8. Décroissance (Degrowth)
5:23 $1.20
9. Healing (Guérison)
6:07 $1.20
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
“The Failure of Words” is a touchstone in Yang’s evolution. This album, unlike the others, aims no more to sound like in live situation but is a musical process itself.

The idea behind the project was to express the inability, as human beings, to really communicate with our species, always experiencing conflict, disharmony and delusion. Only art, love, are able to convey our deepest feelings and ideas. Words failed us.

This album is linked to the art of Bruno Mendonça, whose work is in a big part inspired by the deprivation of communication, the impossibility to deliver a message. Bruno passed away in November 2011 before Frédéric and he could give shape to their collaborative album project.

Recorded in different studios then mixed and produced in Berlin by Markus Reuter and Benjamin Schäfer, the album “The Failure of Words” has been built for a recording. Not only rough guitars here, but also different keyboards, acoustic guitars, some special sound treatments, and a very dedicated and sophisticated production.

releases February 9, 2017

Frédéric L'Épée: guitars, keyboards
Laurent James: guitar
Nico Gomez: Bass
Volodia Brice: Drums

Drums recorded at "Le Cri de la Tarente" studio - La Ciotat, France

Mixing: Benjamin Schäfer, Markus Reuter
Mastering: Lee Fletcher
Artwork: Bernhard Wöstheinrich on the art of Bruno Mendonça

Produced by Markus Reuter and Frédéric L'Épée



to write a review